Colossal

Salvador Dali!

This is obviously isn’t a photo I took–it’s a painting by my favorite artist, Salvador Dali, and was the inspiration for the following surrealist poem I wrote.

You head is lined with smoke

like a mushroom cloud

kissing the earth.

.

Your neck, so misleading,

a startling, sturdy trunk

that has no roots.

.

Nothing inside you.

.

The sky is sick, it has

nausea, jaundice, and leprosy

all shifting across its face.

.

And as I look past your head

to the frothy mountains,

all I can see is you

.

looming in my future.

One comment

  1. Ruth Anne · September 17, 2013

    This is dark and brooding, kind of fits my mood today…my thoughts are a lot like that sky.

Leave a Reply

